Down To Earth

Some of you may remember last summer’s tote bag trend. Anya Hindmarch’s “I Am Not A Plastic Bag” sparked an international frenzy after its debut at the LA Mercedes Benz fashion show. Hot on the heels of San Francisco’s plastic bag ban, it raised environmental awareness and made being eco-friendly fashion friendly too!

Getting your hands on one last summer was a fashion feat, but with Marcelle DeCuir’s latest release, you can easily pick one up at any of her Decollage stores on the grid.

rlbohobag3.png

When I first saw it I remarked “This makes me want to go organic food shopping!” and after hearing that, Marcelle dropped this purple one on me, which just so happens to be her favourite, and mine!

So in honour of the message, Nic and I chose to make our outfits a little more grounded so to speak, using the imagery of trees and earth tones.

dahlnicboho.png
I feel ready for my trip to Whole Foods with my ankle boots and knee length skirt. The texturing on the heartattack & vine skirt is amazing and the black upper ties in nicely with the black sculpted sleeve tee. I used a vest and scarf in complimentary neutrals to give this outfit some depth and kept both the hair and makeup natural and pretty.

Nic looks like the kind of guy you hope to see at Whole Foods. His tree emblazoned t-shirt and loosely wrapped cloth sash speak to a sensitive side while his torn jeans and chinstrap make you think he might play guitar too, score! His cork sandals are a perfect way to finish off this bohemian outfit.

Green Tip: If you prefer to leave your computer on 24/7… turn your monitor off at night. It uses more energy than any other part of your computer.

READ MORE FOR STYLE SHEETS

dahlboho.png nicboho.png

BONNIE:
Hair: Armidi – The Pasadena Girl V (Smoked Walnut)
Skin: Dutch Touch – Amy – Sunkissed (Smokey Smooth)
Eyes: MMS – Dark Brown Eyes
Lashes: Ceestia Studios – Deviant
Scarf: Veschi – Shwank Beige Scarf
Vest: Armidi – Itimo Leather Vest (Desert)
Shirt/Skirt: heartattack & vine – this skirt has been to the woods
Shoes: Armidi Gisaci – Oxford Leather Ankle Boots (Harvest)
Bag: Decollage – I’m Not a Plastic Bag (purple)
Necklace: heartattack & vine – I found this beaded necklace on a werewolf
Poses: Dilemma – Reserved Pose 5 | ANIMAH – Couple’s – Side by Side
CLYDE:
Hair: Armidi – The After Party (Espresso)
Skin: The Abyss – Scorpio (Origin 2[D] Smooth)
Eyes: Armidi – True Enhance Eyes (Moss)
Shirt: hoorenbeek – Tight Tee (Tree)
Undershirt: Valiant – Chill Blue Hensley
Pants: hoorenbeek – Stonewashed Trashy (Brown Belt)
Belt: Avilion Order – Sash
Shoes: Shiny Things – Boho Sandal (Tan)
Necklace: Aitui – Tapa Necklace | Earthtones Boutique – His Prayer Rosary (Darkwood/Silver Brass)
Arm Band: Random – Free Bandanas! – Arm (Red)
Bracelet: Aitui – Thatch Bracelet
Poses: Vista – VISTAMPOSE9 | ANIMAH – Couple’s – Side by Side

PHOTOSHOOT MUSIC: Hayden – the Hazards of Sitting Beneath Palm Trees

~ by Dahlia Eilde & Nicolas Sinatra on April 4, 2008.

14 Responses to “Down To Earth”

  1. You two are so creative with your posts. Great work. Love it 🙂

  2. What a great idea, I love SLers who dress like chameleons. This is after all SL why not experiment? you guys rock! nice to see some eco chic in sl for a change. I think there are two kinds of movements in the SL fashion scene the ultra glamourous movement and this kind of urban, casual, vintagy look. LOVE IT! keep up the great work guys.

    XOXO Jingo

  3. I turn my monitor off cuz it’s so freakin bright I can’t sleep with it on …

    …erm…

    …I mean, because I love the planet! 😀

    Cool post guys! ❤

  4. Great post… very clever. I love the fashion advice and how it relates to green living.

    http://green4u.wordpress.com

  5. Nic here,

    Thank you so much guys! We are very glad you enjoyed the post, as we surely enjoyed making it! It was definitely a fun piece to put together. Dahlie is currently out of town on a business trip, but will be home tonight. Just know I speak for her when I give my thanks to you all for reading. =)

  6. nic, did you ever notice your avatar has no hips? and your waist is abnormally skinny. your shape is really weird. and do you ever wear a skin besides abyss? get`s boring

  7. How sweet it is for you to be concerned, very concerned, but rest assured I have seen Nic’s shape in ways that I’m sure nobody else can claim and if by weird you mean gorgeous, then yes it’s weird. I’m sure FACES and Homme Magazine will agree with me on that one. As for the Abyss skin, Nic chose that specifically because it was far less of a departure from his previous Naughty skin and he is a very strong believer in maintaining the integrity and continuity of his character. Oh, and it looks damn good. Also, as it seems you’re an educated reader (lack of capitalization overlooked), you should note in our style sheets that Nic chooses to wear variations of the Abyss skins, much like I do with the Dutch Touch skins. I’m still not exactly sure what your concern is, as it appears your only intent was to insult Nic, but please feel free to provide some suggestions to other male skin shops that you feel would be worth a demo if you’re so inclined.

    -Dahlia

  8. On a lighter, happier note…
    I am so pleased with the postiive response this post received!

    Genna – Thank you! Deeming our posts creative is the biggest compliment we can hope for because what is fashion without creativity? ♥

    Jingo – Karma Chameleon! I just love your enthusiasm (: There definitely does seem to be that divide in the fashion world but luckily it’s super easy to skip back and forth between glam and vintage and everything in between.

    Dove – You turn your monitor off but I know what you turn on 😉

    green4u – Thanks so much for dropping in! I’m all about fashion for fashion, but also fashion for a greater social awareness. If I can say it with clothes, I will! Thanks for the blog link, I will be sure to check that out for some eco advice we can apply RL.

  9. Haha Dahlie, down girl. Thanks baby.

    @very concerned – Your opinions are your own, and you’re free to have them. Thank you for the criticism. I may have taken what you said into consideration had you been bold enough to at least share your identity. Being you did not, I can only imagine you’re one of the few people I’ve come across who I did not get along with. Perhaps you feel I’ve wronged you in some way or another, perhaps not, perhaps you’re a sincere critic who is just too timid to show yourself.

    Showing timid or cowardice here is not becoming of anyone. It is the internet after all. What am I going to do? Grief you? I think not. I’ve got better things to do.

    Either way, it doesn’t much matter to me. I rather enjoy the way my avatar looks, as does my partner in crime (and in life). And honestly, that is all that I care about.

  10. good for you guys! and btw after realising that your skin was from abyss i went over there and wow they look amazing and I’ve been in need of a more flawless skin for awhile as well. haven’t bought it yet because im not sure on the eyebrows (they have a little bit of a funny shape no?).

    Dahlia you are so right its so much fun to mix it up and given this is SL we can even experiment with mixing in some fantasy elemtents (i’m not so sure a storm trouper in an armidi suit will look good but hey I’ll give it ago for a kick after all John Galliano mixed in cybermen with his show and although totally unwearable irl in sl there is no such thing as comfort!).

    Looking forward to your next post

    XOXO

    Jingo

  11. HI5….Mr & Mrs Sinatra–Love the post you two and DAYUMMM has anyone seen Nic and not to mention Dahlia in the lastest HOMME magazine publication—Both looking extremely sexy and great. See you soon!! ❤

  12. Hi!!!

    OMG! LOVE the purses!!! I want those bags in RL!!!

    ~’~ Rylan Carling ~’~

  13. omg, youre not allowed to wear the same skin ad infinitum???…i never got the memo…clutches his FNKY to him like a security blanket…our Whole Foods are full of pretentious yuppies who fire up the Land Rover to travel the 3 blocks to the store…hands out poison fashion cookies to gutless anon commenters to choke on

  14. *shakes her head* Oh Whole Foodsters, when will you learn.
    p.s. I don’t even live near a Whole Foods, I only wish I did. Le sigh.

Leave a Reply

 
