Because I’m An American!

Happy Independence Day, y’all!
Hot on the heels of Canada Day, it’s Nic’s turn to celebrate. And since he was such a good sport on the 1st, I held up my end of the bargain and joined him in a little star spangled splendor.

I took a literal approach to the theme playing up red, white, and blue with black accents. Some time ago London Dailey dropped a review folder on me with a range of skins and designs from her store, Pink Outfitters. I rarely wear outfits “as-is”, not because I don’t like them, but more as a way of challenging my own creativity in fashioning something different. London’s designs are certainly conducive to my penchant for mixing/matching. I love the daringly deep scoop neckline of the shirt, and how perfect are those red and white stripes for this holiday? I plucked the skirt from her Innocent Dress and unified the upper and lower pieces of this ensemble with my favourite belt from M*A*ii*K*I. I love the way this came together to create a dress worthy of an all-American girl, even if she is Canadian.

Nic is using today’s occasion to blurt “Because I’m an American” as his answer for everything, much to my amusement:

Dahlia: Why didn’t you wake me up when you got up?
Nicolas: ‘Cause I’m an American.
This was the start of our day…

Anyway, he took a slightly more interpretive approach when creating his outfit, of which I’m a big fan.
Let’s rattle off Nic’s Independence Day must-haves head to toe.

  • American flag shemagh. Political and stylish.
  • Military style camo t-shirt.
  • American manufactured Colt .45 holstered to the hip.
  • All-American fashion staple, rough and tough ripped blue jeans.
  • Rugged ready for action combat boots.
  • Obama ’08 flexi flag accessory.

Why does he look so good? Because he’s an American!

PHOTOSHOOT MUSIC: Creedence Clearwater Revival – Fortunate Son

READ MORE FOR STYLE SHEETS

BONNIE:
Hair: Armidi – Abigail (Tropez)
Skin: Pink Outfitters – Fresh Fx – Natural Beige (Rose)
Eyes: MMS – Dark Brown Eyes
Lashes: Karamia – Starry Eye Lashes
Shirt: Pink Outfitters – French Scoop Neck (red wine)
Skirt: Pink Outiffters – Innocent Dress (bottom) (harbor blue)
Belt: M*A*ii*K*I – High Waisted Belt (Patent Black)
Shoes: Maitreya – Verve Pumps (Black)
Headband: Honey Kitty – ribbonholic katyusha (dot)
Poses: LAP – Joan | LAP – Sally

CLYDE:
Skin: The Abyss – Scorpio (Origin 1[B])
Eyes: Armidi – True Enhance Eyes (Moss)
Shirt: Mischief – Redneck Camo Golf Shirt
Pants: GearShift – Maverick Jeans (Ripped Blue)
Belt: Monogrind – Old Bullets Belt
Shoes: The Abyss – NAU Combat Boots
Head & Neck Scarf: TonkTastic – Shemagh (Stars and Stripes)
Glasses: Armidi – Lifestyle Aviators (White Gold)
Holster & Gun: FizzWorks – Griswold & Gunnison
Poses: LAP – Peace Out | LAP – Male Hor

~ by Dahlia Eilde & Nicolas Sinatra on July 4, 2008.

8 Responses to “Because I’m An American!”

  1. Not because I’m partial or anything, but I think I like this one even better than the canada day one! 😮 I love the piece/parting of the outfits and how they came together.

    That thing on Nic’s head is awesome! The pants = win. And Dahl you look so cute, I’m loving the headband! ❤

    Happy 4th you guys!!

  2. Spoken like a true American! Hahah 🙂 Thanks Dove we had a lot of fun with this one. I dare you to try that “‘Cause I’m an American” thing on Law.

  3. “Proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free….”

    Great looks here. I’m totally thinking I might buy one of the M*Aii*K*I looks just for the belt. haha! Only I can’t decide what I want. I dig the ‘fit though Nic.

  4. It’s definitely a worthy investment, Channen!

  5. you both look fantastic (as is yall’s wont) but i have to say my fave part is the wee obama flag 😀

  6. Thanks Olivia! Nic whipped that flag up on a whim haha. If you want one just drop him a line in-world and I’m sure he’ll be glad to supply a fellow Obama supporter.

  7. doves all like…”why didnt you wake me up?”…and im all like…”dude, i cant yell loud enough for you to hear me over that buzz saw of a snore you got”…and shes all like “oh what, canadians dont snore?”…and im all like “no”…buys nic a gun rack to celebrate his big american day!!!

  8. happy birthday dah! you are one fabulous and chic girl and i’m so glad we are friends. hope you had a fabulous bday with your honey bunny. love bo

Leave a Reply

 
