Fur Real

Fur is definitely in this season as illustrated by numerous designers around the grid.  Speaking of which…

Icemocolo Voom of Muism is vocal about his belief that Aoharu steals their designs and ideas.  Taking it a step further, he outright refuses to speak to anyone in the Aoharu group.  Obviously, that calling card has been cut.

Bonnie and Clyde should surely know a thing or two about theft, no?  If you’ve been to both stores it’s clear to see that they have an entirely different approach to style, design, and texturing, not to mention distinct pricing differences.

That being said, other members of the Muism team we’ve encountered (Migi Voom and Miaow Dastardly) have been nothing less than gracious, but based on price points and overall aesthetic we will go on record and say that we prefer the original works of Aoharu.

And here are two good examples of why.  Aoharu’s fur collection is plush, voluminous, and rich, playing up the characteristics which make fur so sought after in RL.

This leopard print fur coat easily lends itself to a Rachel Zoe-esque style.  From the wavy blonde hair to the oversized bag and glasses – I die.

Aoharu’s men’s line is a little more subtle in its fuzzy approach.  This coat’s hood gets a generous serving of fur fringe making it perfect for colder months.  Also, we love the open style and the mid-thigh length is perfect, giving it the class of a trench without weighing down the outfit.  Paired with a hat and dress shoes it lives up to the opulence of fur.

For us, the best thing about SL® fur is that there are no ethical dilemmas.  All glam no guilt. Unless of course furries are being slain in a workshop somewhere unbeknownst to us.  Now if only we could get the Olsen twins on SL® and off of PETA’s radar.

PHOTOSHOOT MUSIC: Of Montreal – Suffer for Fashion

READ MORE FOR STYLE SHEETS

BONNIE

Hair: Armidi – Pasadena V (Tropez)
Skin: MiA – Bombshell (Pale Skin)
Eyes: MMS – Dark Brown Eyes
Jacket: Aoharu – FurCoat (Leopard)
Jeans: Ibizarre – Used Glam Jeans
Boots: Jaywalk – Liah (Mahogany)
Glasses: Fashionably Dead – Bugeye Glasses (Black)
Bag: Cachet – BigBag
Pose: LAP – Other Shoulder

CLYDE

Hair: Uncleweb Studio – Hibiki Hair (Brown)
Skin: Millage Valenti – SKA-004 (Nude – Beard)
Eyes: Armidi – True Enhance Eyes (Emerald)
Coat: Aoharu – Mods Coat (Brown)
Sweater: Armidi Gisaci – Classic Cashmere Turtleneck (Beige)
Pants: Savvy Avvy – Dress Pants (Taupe w/ Brown Belt)
Shoes: Redgrave – Strap Loafer (Dark Brown)
Hat: Kari – Rude Boy (Chocolate)
Pose: LAP – Caught

~ by Dahlia Eilde & Nicolas Sinatra on October 24, 2008.

13 Responses to “Fur Real”

  1. Ohhhh, omg- I have a coat *just* like yours IRL. 😀 I need the SL version for sure. You two look simply divine! I love autumn because a seasonal requirement is to pile on layers and layers of one’s favorite things in an attempt to stay warm. At least for me- this girl gets chilly. On the other hand, you both look warm and toasty, and fabulous as well. ❤

  2. LOL you need the SL version and I need the RL version! Thank you so much for your sweet comment. Believe me, it gets cold here in Canada and I seem to transfer those temperatures to SL, regardless of whether or not we live on a beach in-world hahah. Layers FTW!

  3. I’m not familiar with Muism very well, but I can speak on behalf of the character of Machang with AOHARU. Anyone who actually knows Machang would know that she is anything but a thief, spends countless hours working on every single piece that she releases, and her morals and ethics are such that I can safely say that she would never steal the designs of anything else. What I am familiar of Muism is that, in my personal opinion, is that they’re inferior in detail to AOHARU to begin with.

  4. twistedandtawdry, I completely agree. While I haven’t had much personal contact with Machang, the hard work you speak of certainly shows in every item she creates. Not to discount Muism’s creations, their work is good, but for Icemocolo to make such unfounded accusations can only lead to the conclusion of jealousy. Anyone I’ve talked to (besides the aforementioned of course) has had nothing but good to say about Machang and I have no reason for disbelief.

    Thank you so much for reading and for your insightful comment.

  5. That’s such an odd accusation, I’ve never noticed any similarities between those two stores. Aoharu’s offerings have always struck me as being very original, not to mention affordable.

  6. ❤ fur real

  7. @ Stephanie – I found it odd as well, like mind boggling odd. But after a very brief (I am in the AOHARU group) IM session his stance was certainly clear. It’s one thing to be entitled to a loosely based opinion, but to speak it as damaging fact and alienate customers over it, well, that’s when we decided to post.

    @ Dice – <333333 where you been D? You are missed.

  8. apparently i can cancel my furry hunting trip and just head to aoharu for fur???…i wish i had read this before i spent all night sharpening my buck knife on the whet stone…

  9. Seem like a season of flinging unsubstantiated accusations about… 100% proof will always win the day… mud slinging is no more than Drama.

    Having dealt with both designers… I can tell them apart, each having merits to their own creations. What doesn’t work though, is INSISTANCE that if you deal with one, you DO NOT deal with the other, that just leaves a bad taste.. NO ONE tells me who I can and cannot do business with…

    Great looking outfits btw 🙂

  10. @ Lawless – LMAO. Buck knife on whet stone, have you been drinking mead again?

    @ AWM – I felt the same way when I was told I had to leave the group if I wanted the privilige of a conversation, though telling a respected fashion agency who they can and cannot do business with takes it to another level. Giving ultimatums in an instance like this is the equivalent of a temper tantrum. Immature and rarely effective.

    Thank you for reading!

  11. Ahh.. I LOVE Rachel Zoe and you look FABULOUS Dahlia. And I need that coat on Nic. x_x

  12. Aw, thank you Lucas 😀
    And The Rachel Zoe project is bananas! Loves it. I even have Nic hooked on it. heheh

    You would look tres chic in that coat btw.

  13. I am at work right now, so I can’t thank everyone individually. However, I would like to just say thank you in general for all of your comments, we appreciate your opinions very much. We ❤ you guys.

    @Dahlia – I miss you baby, I will be coming home soon.

Leave a Reply

 
